English language qualifications

LCCI offers a comprehensive range of English language qualifications aligned to the Common European Framework (CEF):

Common European Framework - LCCI International Qualifications Equivalence Scale
English for Business
English for Tourism
English for Commerce
Below Scale
Below Scale
Level 1
Level 2
Level 3
Level 1
Level 1
Level 1
Level 4
Level 2
Level 2
Level 2
Level 5
Level 3
Level 3
Level 6
Level 4
Level 7

JETSET (Junior English Tests and Senior English Tests)

JETSET (Junior English Tests and Senior English Tests)ESOL International qualifications are intended for candidates who are not native speakers of English and who wish to achieve a high quality, internationally recognised qualification in English that is available and recognised world-wide. The JETSET (Junior English Tests and Senior English Tests) ESOL International Qualifications are skills based English language qualifications that have been designed to develop and assess a candidate´s ability to communicate in English.

The qualifications are available at 8 levels, each level consisting of 3 mandatory components (Listening comprehension test, Reading test and Writing tests and one optional component (Speaking test). The only exception is Foundation level where there is no Writing test. For levels Foundation, 1, 2, 3 and 4, JET and SET contextualised versions of the assessments are now available.

Each JETSET level is a free-standing qualification and is separately certificated. At JETSET 2, 3 4, 5, 6 and 7, the qualifications have been closely aligned to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF) at levels A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2 respectively. These levels have also gained accreditation by OFQUAL, a non-ministerial government department that regulates qualifications, examinations and assessments in England as ESOL International Qualifications. JETSET Foundation and JETSET 1 are, however, considered below the CEF scale and as such are non-accredited.

To understand how JETSET qualifications compare to the qualifications of other awarding bodies please view the English Language Comparisons and Equivalences


EfB (English for Business)

The examination is designed for candidates who, as a part of their job, deal with English-speaking counterparts regularly in a functional capacity. A basic functional level of English language skills is required. The qualification consists of a mandatory reading and writing exam and optional speaking and listening exams. It is available at 5 levels: Preliminary (A1), Level 1 - 4 (A2 - C1).

EfT (English for Tourism)

EFT is aimed at those people working or planning to work in the tourism industry. It includes both written and spoken examinations, using authentic materials, such as booking forms, maps, timetables, brochures, etc. It is offered on demand at 2 levels, level 1 (A2) being suitable for front line staff and level 2 (B1) for supervisory candidates.

ELSA (English Language Skills Assessment)

ELSA is a series of diagnostic tests covering the four language skills – listening, reading, speaking and writing. They use a single scale scoring system testing candidates of all abilities with one test. Questions are based on work, home and travel settings, testing a person’s ability to understand and communicate in the real world. It is available in both paper-based and online format, in British and American versions.

This qualification has been approved for the UK Border Agency Points Based System. For further information please visit the Recognitions page.

To understand how JETSET qualifications compare to the qualifications of other awarding bodies please view the English Language Comparisons and Equivalences.

FELSA (Foundation Language Skills Assessment)

FELSA is a diagnostic tool to test and evaluate English language ability in listening, reading and speaking for candidates with the equivalent level of proficiency to A1-A2 on the CEF. It is suitable for candidates of any age or background and is also available in paper-based and online format.

FTBE (First Certificate for Teachers of Business English)

FTBE is a qualification for qualified general ELT teachers who intend to specialize in teaching English for business purposes. It tests the knowledge of business practice, business vocabulary and the understanding of applying professional teaching methodologies to Business English.


CertTEFL (Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language)

The EDI Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (Cert TEFL) is a Level 4 qualification (UK NQF equivalent) designed for people who have little or no experience of teaching English as a Foreign Language (EFL) but who wish to embark on a career as an EFL teacher. The EDI Cert TEFL is a highly practical course designed to provide candidates with the initial skills they need for teaching English to adult students of other languages.

Achievement of the EDI Cert TEFL will confirm that candidates have a good understanding of the essential aspects of the EFL teacher's role, can organise and manage effective learning and have developed professionally through on-going reflection and evaluation.